About - eswabhimani


The e-Swabhimani is an initiative of the Information Communication Technology Agency of Sri Lanka aimed at recognizing excellence in digital application creation. It is expected that this national award would stimulate a greater interest in the development of a wide range of digital applications that would serve the needs of society. Launched in the year 2009, e-Swabhimani 2021 will be the 11th consecutive year of celebration in which local digital talents will be recognized and promoted on national and international platforms.

Set up under the Information and Communication Technology Act, No. 27 of 2003 and strengthened by the ICT Amendment Act No. 33 of 2008, the Information and Communication Technology Agency of Sri Lanka (ICTA), functioning under the Ministry of Telecommunication and Digital Infrastructure. The main thrust of ICTA is to set ICT policy as well as guide and direct national ICT development activities.

ICTA recognizes the fact that the disparities in accessing information communication technologies that exist in our society today stem not only from inadequate infrastructure but also from the lack of digital applications. The design and development of good quality applications require creative imagination, engineering know-how as well as financial resources. ICTA has initiated a large number of projects that have addressed the needs of the citizens of the country and have strived to create content and applications that would impact on the everyday lives of people. In order to maintain this heightened interest in digital application development and to create awareness among the general public, ICTA has initiated "e-Swabhimani" the National Digital Social Impact Awards for Sri Lanka.

Award categories are as follows;

  • Government And Citizen Engagement
  • Health And Well–Being
  • Learning And Education
  • Environment And Green Energy
  • Culture & Tourism
  • Smart Settlement And Urbanization
  • Business And Commerce
  • Inclusion & Empowerment
  • Digital Entertainment
  • Youth Awards

The best of e-Swabhimani Applications will be nominated for the World Summit Awards 2021.